tall tales

from the gallagher five.

Bolder BOULDER. May 29, 2012

Filed under: Anne — gallyfam @ 2:17 pm
Tags:

So, as many of you know, I ran my first race EVER yesterday.  It was the Bolder BOULDER down in, ahem, Boulder, CO.  It’s a 10k, which is the same as 6.2 miles for all you non-runners.  Or non-metric users.  : )  I had two goals that I’m happy to say I was able to accomplish: 1. I ran the whole course without stopping or walking.  2. I ran it in under an hour.  My official time was 57:12, so I ran each mile in a little more than 9 minutes.  For me, that is about the most I could have hoped for.  I feel good about how it went.  It was difficult, but attainable.  It was a beautiful day, and my boys were there cheering for me and supporting me.  Next year, Silas & Phil are planning to run the race with me and partake in all the fun things that spectators are doing along the way — handing out cotton candy, marshmallows, popsicles, offering rides on slip n slides, etc.  There are also lots of fun bands along the way…  Here are some photos from the day.  Thanks so much for all of your encouraging words and support along this journey of mine into the running world!

before the race… i told phil after he took it that i probably looked more excited than i felt! nervous!

The boys watching the race.

Lincoln watching the race. And looking cute. Good Lord.

A couple friends, Erika & Kelsi, and I after the race, in the stadium where it ends. That’s the finish line behind us…

Phil & me. What a great guy!!

My favorite boys and me.

Tate’s photos of me in the stands.

 

4 Responses to “Bolder BOULDER.”

  1. Mom Says:

    Thank you so much for more pics!!! That Tate is becoming quite the little photographer…. taking after MOMMY! So happy that you were successful in so many ways. love you

  2. Erika Says:

    You did such a great job! So fun to run your first race w/ you (well…..behind you) (; proud of you anne!

  3. lizzie Says:

    Nice work, Annie.

  4. Erin Says:

    You did it!! Great job, Anne 🙂 How exhilarating! I have to say you inspired me, and I’ve started back running myself (even though it’s a killer – ugh!) More adventures await you – the sky’s the limit 🙂


Leave a Reply

